Best of the Week 2020-2021: Excellence in College Prep


The 1964 St. Edward Man of the Year was Jim Walter who went on to become a successful entrepreneur and who believes in the concept of paying it forward. In 2014, Jim and his wife, Marianne, established the Forward Scholarship at St. Ed’s with the belief that by investing in highly principled and talented students, great things can happen. Forward Scholarships are awarded to four Edsmen each year who have exceptional promise and have demonstrated an appreciation of the Gospel verse "to whom much has been given, much is expected." These Edsmen understand that the skills and intellect they possess have been given to them by God; and are not truly utilized until they have been put forth in service to others. As a condition of this scholarship, each Forward Scholar commits, at some point in the future, to paying the award forward through service and philanthropic efforts. Every spring, St. Ed's faculty and staff are asked to nominate freshmen who embody the characteristics of a Forward Scholar. This year, 27 Edsmen, who in their short time at St. Ed's have demonstrated tremendous character, were nominated for the Forward Scholarship, Congratulations to Deontae Armstrong, Chayce Brown, Casey Bullock, and Joseph Scarpitti who were named Forward Scholars for the Class of 2024.