legal eagle logo 2.JPG

Legal Eagle Luncheon
Friday, May 27, at 12:00 p.m.
The Aviator, Owner Khadar Soussou '11

Online registration is now closed. Please contact Alumni Relations Manager, Dan Wallenhorst '04
at or 216-221-3776 x257 with questions.


Congratulations To Our 2022 Award Recipients

2022 Legal Eagles

Man of the Year

Joe Zone.jpg

Hon. Joseph Zone '72

City of Cleveland

Municipal Court Judge

2022 Stewardship Award Recipient

Kevin Kelley.png

Kevin Kelley '86

Of Counsel at

Porter Wright Morris & Arthur

St. Edward Legal Eagles
Events and Activities

 The Legal Eagles plan for and participate in these and other activities:

  • Annual three-credit-hour, year-end CLE on the first Saturday in December, open to all attorneys and presented in conjunction with the Cleveland Metropolitan Bar Association

  • Annual Man of the Year luncheon held each spring, awarding the Legal Eagles Man of the Year award to a lawyer or judge and the Legal Eagles Stewardship Award to a non-lawyer for contributions to the Northern Ohio legal community

  • Legal Eagles scholarships given to St. Edward students

  • Pro bono activities, including work at Legal Aid Society drop-in free advice clinics at the West Side Catholic Center

  • Assistance in coaching the St. Edward student mock trial teams

  • Present at the Annual Estate Planning Seminar and serve as members of the Planned Giving Committee


Interested in joining, receiving Legal Eagles invitations and being counted among our members?  

Click here to contact Legal Eagles President Rob Cahill '93.  Membership is free.

The St. Edward Legal Eagles are members of the legal community who are graduates of St. Edward High School, or who have sons who are members of the St. Edward community.  Our mission is to promote professionalism, advance continuing legal education, assist St. Edward students and the school family, and provide a social setting to allow for the free and collegial exchange of ideas among our members.

2021 - 2022 Officers

John A. Grecol ’03, Immediate Past President
Rob Cahill '93, President 
Michael VanNiel '91, Luncheon Chair 
Carl Mazzone '01, Seminar Chair
Cornelius J. O' Sullivan Jr. ’81, Treasurer

To nominate a St. Edward graduate for either award, please contact any of the officers listed above.

Legal Eagles Award Recipients

The Legal Eagles are proud to have recognized the following graduates and members of the legal community in years past:

Legal Eagles Man Of The Year Recipients

1994  Edward T. Clarke ’56

1995  Hon. Terrence O’Donnell ’64

1996  Ralph T. Skonce Jr. ’72

1997  Hon. John J. Donnelly ’61

1998  Hon. Patrick J. Carroll ’70

1999  Patrick F. Roche ’68

2000  Albert C. Sammon ’74

2001  J. Matthew Cain ’60

2002  Michael E. Murman ’64

2003  Hon. Timothy J. McGinty ’69

2004  John F. McCaffrey ’79

2005  Hon. Sean C. Gallagher ’73

2006  John J. Duffy ’61

2007  Scott E. Stewart ’69

2008  Cornelius J. O’Sullivan ’81

2009  Henry J. Hilow ’74

2010  Hon. John J. Russo ’83

2011  Regis E. McGann ’67

2012  James P. Sammon ’87

2013  James B. Niehaus ’76

2014  Hon. Brendan J. Sheehan ’85

2015  Mark Valponi '70

2016  Mike Gareau, Sr. '58

2017  John J. Wargo, Jr. '65

2018  Kevin M. Butler '93 

2019  Patrick F. Haggerty '73 

2020 Hon. Patrick F. Corrigan '70

2021 Bryan P. O'Malley '80

Legal Eagles Stewardship Award Recipients

2012  Pete Elliott '80, U.S. Marshal

2013  Mike McGrath '69, Cleveland Safety Director

2014  Brian Heffernan '78, Cleveland Police Commander

2015  Craig Tame '67, Office of the U.S. Attorney

2016  Brent Collins '78, Assistant Fire Chief, Cleveland Fire Department

2017  Frank Bova '78, Cuyahoga County Sheriff

2018  Michael J. O'Malley '67, Investigator Supervisor at Cuyahoga County Prosecutor's Office

2019  Matt Zone '81 Councilman, City of Cleveland

2021  Keith G. Sulzer '79